This is the stupidity I have to deal with

I keep waiting for something else to go wrong this month.

First, my dad is hospitalized for an operation to resolve a life-threatening "cancer" on is back, and on the same day he was admitted, we had a vicious electrical storm that fried just about all the appliances in my house, including my computer.

To make matters worse, the insurance company required convincing that I’ve made a legitimate claim for the losses (in particular, the computer) and almost didn’t settle because, and I quote, "It is highly unlikely for a home user to be in possession of a server-class computer of that caliber. The computer system for which you are claiming is not generally available to the public, and the claim can therefore not be processed without further investigation". To add insult to injury, the report by their assessor that they initially sent to investigate was not accepted, and they had their anti-fraud unit knocking on my door, with cameras and all so that they can take their own photographs. As if the ones I had already supplied where slapped together in Paint Shop Pro!

They eventually did settle the claim, nearly two weeks after the storm, and I was able to order replacement components for those that I lost.

But then the suppliers that had been working with the insurance screwed up, and began making excuses about stock availability. So I was forced to purchase the motherboard elsewhere, but at a substantially higher price. I was supposed to receive both deliveries this morning – but I only got the motherboard.

So I contact the original supplier, and ask them what the problem is. "Oh, I’m sorry, we don’t have the Phenom processor in stock. We put your order on hold temporarily, until stock arrives in about 3 to 4 weeks." WTF? So in the meantime, they have my money, the insurance is breathing down my back about not yet purchasing all the claimed components (which has to be done within 7 days), and they say I need to wait for 3 weeks?

It just doesn’t get any better than that, does it? But get this – I contacted the sales manager, terminated my reseller dealership with them, and informed them that I no wish to do business with them. Surprise, about an hour later, I got a phone call from the very same sales manager, apologizing profusely for the inconvenience, and that I can dispatch the couriers to pick up my order.

I thought it was going to be a 3 week wait before I got anything? Where’d the stuff come from now all of a sudden?

The above isn’t even really the half of it. Now I’m being sued – For a computer that I sold nearly years ago. Why so long, you ask? Because the claim is that the customer has only recently "learned how to use the computer properly", and has discovered a discrepancy. I sold him a computer with an 80GB hard drive, but the system only reports 76GB available, and Windows ME is constantly performing a disk check whenever the computer is turned on. And it’s crashing all the time. Is it really my fault that the idiot didn’t want Windows XP when he bought the computer, and decided that he’ll stick to Windows ME (which he provided, btw), because that is what he knows how to use.

I give up. Just shoot me now, and end my misery.

The only real good thing I’ve had this month is that my dad’s operation was a complete success, and he is recovering nicely.

This entry was posted in Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to This is the stupidity I have to deal with

  1. Johan says:

    Hey Peter I feel you pain. Its as if insurance companies thinl pc\’s are strictly meat as workstations or stuffing around on the internet. Who needs some serious hardware to run servers or play the latest games anyway. People can be so uninformed.Any way I\’m running a site on freewebs (url: http//:www.freewebs.com/johanleroux )where I\’m trying to share and express my passion for the pc. I\’d like you to visit and let me know what u think or suggest.I\’m really into pc\’s and would like to further my knowledge as much as possible by connecting with people in the industry.

Leave a Reply

